Ways you acquire news other than by watching tv.

October 8, 2008

Much has been made about this exchange between Alaska Governor Sarah Palin and CBS anchor Katie Couric.

Couric: And when it comes to establishing your worldview, I was curious, what newspapers and magazines did you regularly read before you were tapped for this to stay informed and to understand the world?

Palin: I’ve read most of them, again with a great appreciation for the press, for the media.

Couric: What, specifically?

Palin: Um, all of them, any of them that have been in front of me all these years.

Couric: Can you name a few?

Palin: I have a vast variety of sources where we get our news, too. Alaska isn’t a foreign country, where it’s kind of suggested, “Wow, how could you keep in touch with what the rest of Washington, D.C., may be thinking when you live up there in Alaska?” Believe me, Alaska is like a microcosm of America.

While the the content of the answer can’t be disputed, how you interpret this answer often depends on your political leanings. Some say she was trapped by a gotcha question because she couldn’t say certain titles without being painted as an extremist. People on the other side of the argument say that her inability to name specific periodicals was far from a calculated decision, but because she simply didn’t know any. Either way I don’t care, but it did make me wonder about how other people gathered their news. If it is anything like my process then we are in deep trouble:

  1. Social Networks – Much to my surprise this is not an entirely bad way to get news. With the proliferation of microblogging on Twitter and Facebook’s status updates, there is very little major news that I don’t miss. Additionally, I get awesome kitten videos and random funy videos from my friends posting to them.
  2. The New York Times – Years ago when I was in high school, my favorite teacher had a daily subscription to The Times delivered to the school for us to read. Getting news from the most respected newspaper in America makes me feel smarter than I actually am. Exactly the kind of thing that my giant ego needs.
  3. ESPN.ocm – Sports news is still news.
  4. al.com – Occasionally I like to know what goes on locally and this website makes the state of Alabama’s largest newspapers all available in one place. There is also a link to the AP wire which is what I used to find stories when I was a reporter.
  5. Reuters – Another news wire service that provides a more international opinion on the issues of the day. Some people tend to forget there are views other than ones presented to us by the American media. Hell, I would go out on a limb and say that the majority of Americans don’t even care what is going on in the rest of the world just so long as it doesn’t bother them.

List 5 ways you acquire news other than by watching tv.

9 Responses to “Ways you acquire news other than by watching tv.”

  1. Mo Says:

    1. NPR: snippets mostly while driving, sometimes streaming from the net

    2. New York Times: Convenient location right where I wait for class when I have my 2 hour break thrice a week. I really like the cultural sections more than the news, but it helps me decipher the tidbits of news I get otherwise.

    3. Gotta agree with you on the social networks: I hear a lot of news that is either really big or not on my radar. Twitter’s definitely the fave.

    4. Yahoo headlines? Yeah, just cos that’s where I check my email.

    5. Eavesdropping: I overhear people talking about whatever’s happening. Actually more amusing than a lot of other sources.

  2. Katy Says:

    These days most of my news gets filtered to me through Google Reader, but some of the sites I have pulling are:

    1) The New York Times – I have Home and Garden, Dining, Science, and Most Emailed set up to pull from this site, but I still go to the actual web page about once a day to view other articles.

    2) KHOU.com – one of the t.v. stations out of Houston so I can keep up with what’s happening at home.

    3) MSNBC.com – Like NY Times this is filtered for Top Stories, Science/Environment and a few other specific topics.

    4) Livescience.com – Can you tell I like the science stuff?

    5) Dailymail.co.uk – This one is actually a website I visit daily during the work week. I love getting news from a point of view outside of the U.S. Plus, they’re rather snarky with the celebrity news (it’s a guilty pleasure). I may have to give Reuter’s a whirl after reading about it in Roach’s list.

  3. Wes aka BlocksTheSun Says:

    1.) CNN.com-usually where I get my “mainstream” news.

    2.)Slate.com-an online magazine that does a really good job at being unbiased.

    3.)Conservative radio programs-got to keep up with how the other side is thinking.

    4.)TheRoot.com-found this site through Slate and now browse it regularly.

    5.)Magazines-Time,Newsweek,Sports Illustrated. Although they are becoming increasingly irrelivant, I still find some good stuff.

  4. Brian Eldridge Says:

    1. My.Yahoo.com – I have several RSS feeds. I go through those probably 5 days a week and any headlines that catch my eye, I read.

    2. Newspapers – I can’t nail down one paper. If I hear about something and I want more info, I’ll put it into a news search on yahoo and go from there. I’ll usually get tons of results from several sources.

    3. Email – People email me “news” all the time. Sometimes it’s BS. So I’ll use Snopes to confirm or refute the information that I receive.

    4. AL.com – Like you Roach, I tend to browse AL.com for local and regional news.

    That’s about it for me, if I don’t include TV.

  5. Derrick Says:

    1. NPR – 2+ hours a day in the car makes for some fun times with awkward reporters who were too ugly for TV…and Garrison Keillor.

    2. The Teachers’ Lounge – Wow at some of the stuff you’ll hear in the teachers’ lounge. Most of it’s misinformation, but that counts, right?

    3. Twitter – “Did you see that video about ____?”

    4. Forwards – “Did you know that B__ O__ is a Muslim and he’s going to blow up our country if he gets elected? And he’s black, too” Really bigoted and uninformed coworker or relative that I choose to not name? I had no idea!

    5. Websites – I spend a lot of time on ESPN.com during football season, but CNN.com still gets some attention.

  6. mikeray Says:

    Drudge Report – drudgereport.com
    - Always the first place to check for new news. When the world ends he’ll have the first obscure link to the breaking story.

    PopURLs – popurls.com
    - news aggregator that lists the top stories of digg, reddit, delicious, wired, slashdot, and several other ‘social bookmarking’ sites, let’s me keep up with geek news & internet memes

    Google New – news.google.com
    - When it’s volume I want to sift through to find different angles on a story, nothing touches it.

    ESPN.com
    - I check here first for sports, when I pay attention. This sports agnosticism is a major time-saver.

    The Decatur Daily – decaturdaily.com
    - I’ve convinced the Decatur Daily to give me 25 newspapers weekdays, which I distribute to other teachers, but I don’t read it. I am woefully ignorant of my immediate locale, so when the need to know arises, I go here.

  7. Lindsey Says:

    1. NPR in the morning on my way to class
    2. heated debate in ceramics class
    3. NPR in the afternoon on my home from class
    4. MSN.com headlines (Most often about celeb gossip. I swear, this crap is like cocaine!)
    5. NPR at night when I’m getting ready for bed

    (I just assume that the local candidate flyers that I get in the mail touting their credentials and why they are running for the Pitt County Agriculture Board doesn’t count as a news source?)

  8. bess Says:

    1. Livejournal.com – my friends are the smartest people I know. I check this site for two reason: to make sure they’re ok and to learn things even larry king doesn’t know.

    2. Mark and Brian, 95.5 KLOS – an L.A. morning radio talk show. I think they started in birmingham. I believe mark is from florence, AL. anyhoo, they’re funny and informed. and they interview people. (the last time I listened it was Josh Brolin)

    3. ted.com – everything that’s new and improved in the fields of technology, entertainment and design.

    4. LexisNexis – I mainly used lexisnexis during my forensics stint, which was 7 years ago, but I still visit every now and then. some other search engine has probably surpassed it by now. i’m comfortable with it, though. lexisnexis has been good to me.

    5. my grandma – she reads everything. and she wants to talk about the things she reads. all the time. everything from a personal letter to the back of a box of cheerios. but it doesn’t matter. i wouldn’t trade our arguments from the world.

  9. billy Says:

    1. My Inner Circle – I’ve done a pretty good job of surrounding myself with a fairly diverse and more importantly intelligent circle of friends. I know exactly who to go to in the event that particular info is needed whether it be entertainment, politics, or random crap that no one else would know. No matter what I’m covered.

    2. ESPN, TideSports, & BamaOnline – I lump these together as my sports news needs. Because we all have “needs”.

    3. al.com – Allows me to keep up with local news across the state.

    With these 3 above I’m pretty much covered. I guess I need to thank good ole’ Al for inventing this here internet so I keep up with the world today. Because as we all know “One day this internet thing is going to be global.” Thanks to Nova’s Peepaw for this nugget of enlightenment.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

