Songs on your media player with the most plays.

October 9, 2008

It’s easy for me to churn out music inspired lists because I don’t usually have to think about them. For one reason or another (usually a futile attempt at impressing the fairer sex by being a new aged sensitive guy who wears his heart on his sleeve) music has become an extention of my being. Since I have no musical talent at all I find this a bit odd, but I try not to think about it too much. Brains were made for destroying with drugs and alcohol not thinking.

Previous lists have included some of my most played songs so this list will include those songs, but will have additional songs that have not been previously mentioned. This is so you get an accurate reflection of what it is I am listening to, or at least a flash view of my immediate likes. Keep in mind that I have more than 5200 songs in my media player, not to mention many more on CDs I haven’t imported onto my computer.

  1. “Little Waltz” by Basia Bulat (194 plays) – Mentioned before on songs you have listened to more than four times in a row.
  2. “Goodbye To The Mother & The Cover” by Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (115 plays) – More known for their song “Devil Said Dance” this songs made it to the top of the list because it can put me in either a really good mood or a really sad mood depending on how I want to feel. Songs usually just accentuate the feeling that I have at the time I listen to them, but mostly in only one extreme. This is an exception to that rule. I can’t put my finger on why that is, but I have listened to it in my greatest moments of despair and hopelessness, yet it could also be heard when I was on top of the world ready to take on any challenge. Manic swings in my mood may have more to do with this than I would like to admit, but hey. This entry is about music not my mental instability.
  3. “Crown of Love” by The Arcade Fire (112 Plays) – This is the first of three Arcade Fire songs on this list. If you haven’t heard any of their stuff I wholly suggest you give it a try. “Crown of Love” reminds me of what you’d say to an ex after breaking up with them, then realizing you want them back. My interpretation is probably far from what the songwriter intended, but it makes sense to me so I am sticking with it.
  4. “No Cars Go” by The Arcade Fire (98 plays) – Initially this song ranked so high because it precedes another one of my favorite songs on the Neon Bible album. As I played it more and more, I realized that I seemed to get excited when hearing it. Excited about what? Who knows. All I know is that by the end of the song I am in the same state of mind as the person singing when he says “Let’s go/I don’t know where we’re going.”
  5. “Starlight” by Muse (87 plays) – Sometimes I like to be reminded that I need a hug. Who doesn’t?
  6. “My Body is a Cage” by The Arcade Fire (84 plays) – Of the three Arcade Fire songs this one is my favorite because it speaks to my own battle with self consciousness in both a lyrical and musical sense. Lyrical because he damn mentions it in the song. Musically because I imagine this to be the soundtrack when I am questioning my ability in something. Or just because I like the way it sounds. Take your pick. I believe you’ll be right either way.

List 5 songs on your media player with the most plays.

12 Responses to “Songs on your media player with the most plays.”

  1. Jason L. Says:

    I have no idea how far back this goes. But here it is

    1.) I believe She’s Lying, by Jon Brion a.k.a. the most bad ass producer out there. Perhaps you’ve heard his kick ass work with Aimee Mann, or Kanye West, or Spoon, or Fiona Apple, or any awesome keyboard or guitar lick of the late 90′s early 00′s.

    2.) I Must Belong Somwewhere, by Bright Eyes. Conor Oberst’s crazy abundance of great work sickens me.

    3.) So ALive, Ryan Adams. So the reward for being an alcoholic prick is bottomless talent, in case you were wondering. He wrote and recorded the Rock ‘n’ Roll album in like 2 weeks.

    4.) Our Love, Rhett Miller. The Instigator is a great fucking pop record. And this song is the first track, and features a ripping guitar solo by the aforementioned Jon Brion.

    5.) Conspiracy, The Black Crows. This song is cool. I guess I listen to it way more than I thought.

    It should be noted that I almost always listen on random. I don’t know why. It’s just novel that I can. I would second the Arcade Fire recommendation. And if you ever can see them live, just do it. Don’t waffle, only go.

  2. onewandering Says:

    Oh damn… well, now I have to go and admit that I don’t use my media player like this. I almost never sit in a room with my desktop computer and listen to music, and I haven’t had my laptop or my iTouch long enough to listen to the music I’ve put on it and have a number of plays on songs! Mostly, while I’m driving I’ll pop in mix CDs that friends have made for me…

    I think I need some higher musical sophistication over here. Time to import Jamie for a week!

  3. lena Says:

    1. Science Killer by the Black Angels
    I love my psychedelic music. And this song is my absolute favorite. Off of all of the albums. (57 listens)

    2. First Kiss by Biography of Ferns
    A local Seattle band who really should be recognized for the wonderful music that they create. Even if there are only five songs on an album, they’re an amazing five songs. (54 listens)

    3. You Can’t Kill the Revolution by Tool & RATM
    I’ve listened to this song for years and it doesn’t get old. I love two great forces combining. I love hearing Maynard’s voice in the background constantly. If you don’t know this song, you honestly fail. (46 listens)

    4. Schism by Tool
    Lately, I’ve been listening to this song like crazy, even quoting it constantly on my blog. I’m not sure what it is. It’s always been good, but suddenly, I listen to it a few times a day. (36 listens)

    5. Zombie Like Lovers by the Warlocks
    Yet another psychedelic band. They toured with the Black Angels. I’m obsessed with this song. In fact, it shouldn’t be at the bottom of the list because I’ve listened to it, so far, 64 times.

  4. Katy Says:

    My player won’t give me a “number of times played” (at least not without plugging into the computer), but it will give me the top 25.

    1. Bolero – Ravel: Does this one really count since it’s the song I put on repeat and listen to as I sleep when I’m traveling? I think that skews the number quite a bit. That being said, I can remember hearing this song for the first time on NPR when I was in high school and it making such an impression on me. I love the steady rhythm and how the song intensity builds to the end.

    2) Hate Me – Blue October: Blue October’s Foiled album released around the same time as my last break up. I listened to this album quite a bit during that time and even though I’ve listened to it more times than I can count, I still love it. Listening to the album is like listening to the anatomy of a break up and the putting yourself back together afterwards.

    The next three songs come from my “mellow” mix on my player and since this is the mix I most often listen to at work it’s not surprising these songs are next in line for “most played”.

    3) Soul Meets Body – Death Cab for Cutie:

    4) Be Gentle With Me – The Boy Least Likely To:

    5) Johnny Cash – Hurt

    I grew up with Johnny Cash playing in the background. My dad is a huge fan of old country. It doesn’t surprise me that the song that immediately follows “Hurt” on my play list is “When the Man Comes Around”.

  5. mikeray Says:

    Without record-keeping, and with three different places that I play songs I’ll hazard a guess:

    1) Reckless Kelley – Seven Nights in Eire
    It stirs my Celtic blood, but in an American way.

    2) Filter – Hey Man Nice Shot
    My favorite angry guy song of the 90′s.

    3) Beck – Loser
    He has some good new songs, but this nonsense poetry hits me like nothing else – “Saving all your food stamps and burning down the trailer park.”

    4) The Clash – Should I Stay or Should I Go
    To me this is the apex of late punk. The guitar almost talks and the lyrics are simple (but half in Spanish), but it moves me:
    Should I stay or should I go now?
    If I go there will be trouble
    An if I stay it will be double
    So come on and let me know
    Should I stay or should I go?

    5) Richard Cheese and Lounge against the Machine
    Cover of Radiohead’s Creep, imagine a Sinatra-like voice crooning: “you’re so fucking special”

  6. Wes a.k.a BlocksTheSun Says:

    1.) Parachutes-Pearl Jam

    2.) Marker in the Sand-Pearl Jam

    3.) Doesn’t Remind Me-Audioslave

    4.) Unemployable & Big Wave(tie)-Pearl Jam

    5.) World Wide Suicide & Comatose(tie)- Pearl Jam

    I was really diggin’ Pearl Jam’s new album around the time I got my iPod!

  7. Lindsey Says:

    Please don’t judge me by my top picks- I just ripped some CDs when I started my collection, and after my iPod kicked the bucket, it just didn’t seem worth it to invest a lot of time/effort/money into updating my iTunes library, so I still listen to a lot of the same ol’ stuff on Shuffle.
    1. Brighter Than Sunshine -Aqualung
    2. Slung-lo- Erin McKeown
    3. Punk Rock Princess -Something Corporate
    4. Buddy Holly – Weezer
    5. Happiness is a Warm Gun -The Breeders

  8. jenny Says:

    1-meet me in the city-black keys
    2-you’re the one-black keys
    3-a civilized worm-melvins
    4–how’s it going to end-tom waits
    5-500 miles-proclaimers

  9. bess Says:

    I’m not familiar enough with my media player to force my musical taste on it.

    I do know there are loads of songs I never grow tired of hearing. I love ‘em because they either take me back to heady days of reckless youth, make me want to shake my ass and show you what I’m workin’ with, or they shock me with beautiful images and leave me frozen dead in my tracks.

    here goes the list:

    1. Long Ride Home – the song that made me fall in love with patty griffin

    2. Feeling Good – fine and bittersweet, it’s the no-good man you said no to after that last, hungry, sexy dance. it’s nina simone.

    3. Black Dog – my “shake your ass” number

    4. Silent All These Years – i was trapped in a green, air condition-less, ’98 ford taurus headed for the University of Alabama. the journey was sticky and smelly and miserable, and lindsey’s birthday present, a “best of” tori amos tape, was the only thing that kept me from pulling over at the nearest rest stop to club the first station wagon-driving, illinois souvenir-sporting, nasty community restroom-hogging family I saw. her compilation ran the entire two hour and fifteen minute drive from decatur to tuscaloosa. this song stuck out from the rest. it’s been with me ever since:

    5. Unknown Sigur Ros – of all the places i’ve lived so far, the falkville house has been my favorite. a 50s front room outlined my love for david lynch. the orange and antique bedroom prompted smokey new orleans fantasies. my florida keys-inspired sea foam green bathroom represented my tendency for outbursts of silliness. outside there were cattle, and homemade fences that froze over in winter, and if you squinted your eyes against the sunrise you could block out the highway and pretend you were on a ranch in montana. very raw and romantic. but my favorite aspect of the favorite house was the kitchen: the large, airy, barn-red, dark wood-decorated kitchen. It was peaceful. It was home. I was in this room the day I lost my sigur ros cherry. I had just tucked in to bran flakes when this song started:

    I froze, cereal abandoned, both hands palm-down on the table. I didn’t move again until the song ended some five minutes before I had to leave for class.

  10. Jamie Says:

    So this is not quite accurate since I listen to my Ipod in the car and/or my dock more so than I listen to my Itunes account. But here is what my top 5 played are from the Itunes account:

    1. Back to Black – Amy Winehouse 99 plays
    I have talked about this song before and there was definitely a point where this song was basically on repeat. I still love this song but have moved on to other obsessions.

    2. Grey (Featuring Bebe K) – The Weather Inside 93 plays
    Great mellow song. I have this on my mellow soundtrack that I use to go to sleep sometimes. Very smooth song that rocks.

    3. Silver Lining – Rilo Kiley 91 plays
    I just found Rilo kiley recently but became obsessed pretty quickly. I have seen them live once and it was amazing how clear Jenny Lewis’ voice is even live. My favorite part of this song is “The grass it was a ticking and the sun was on the rise, I never felt so wicked as when I willed our love to die.” Great lyric but I also like the change in the beat which reminds me of my favorite Grateful Dead song Sugar Magnolia when the beat shifts to a spanish flavor at “She can dance a cajun rhythm” I always turn that part of the song up just a little!

    4. I Try – Ben Taylor 89 plays
    Originally a Macy Gray song but this version is great. It’s James Taylor and Carly Simon’s son so how could you go wrong with those genes in you! I had never really listened to the lyrics of this song until I heard this version and I fell in love with it.

    5. I Can’t Make You Love Me – Bonnie Raitt 88 plays
    I have already talked about this one as well but I do love it so. It always makes me want to cry but a good longing for someone cry. And it’s Bonnie Raitt so you can’t go wrong.

  11. Angela E. Says:

    I have in insane amount of songs on my iTunes /iPod – and since I always tend to just randomly shuffle through ALL of my songs rather than limit myself to a favorite, not many of them really have insane amounts of play time. But I was a little amused to look and see which ones had been played the most. They were:

    #1 – “Flower” by Liz Phair. This song is so delicate and dainty – yet so very downright dirty. Kind of like me only without the delicate and dainty part :) I’m pretty sure that most of the plays from this one came from a party I went to awhile back where I was astounded that nobody had ever heard this song so I played it for them… and they wanted to hear it over and over and over again so that they could finally catch the lyrics. Give it a listen if you haven’t before.

    #2 – “Low” by Flo Rida feat. T-Pain. Played almost 100% of the time by my 6 year old while she made up endless dances to it,

    #3 – “Brass in Pocket” by The Pretenders. Love that song. Simply put.

    #4 – “Bad” by Cowboy Mouth. I apparently like listening to this song when I am feeling a little bit on the randy side. Which is apparently quite often.

    #5 – “Dear Mr. President” by Pink. I love this song because it allows me to do two of the things in this world that I love the best – sing a great song within my vocal range, and bitch about politics/idiotic people. Pink sings my heart on this one!

  12. billy Says:

    1. “The Prayer” by Bloc Party – Part of this is by default because it is one of the first songs with the groups organized alphabetically. It’s also a pretty cool song. Who doesn’t like a cool British black dude singing essentially 80s sounding songs about tripping?

    2. “Banquet” by Bloc Party – There may be a party developing here. I may like the Bloc just a little bit.

    3. “Party Up in Here” by DMX – Current legal troubles and bad mug shots aside DMX is still pretty bad ass. Plus it’s a pretty good work out and cutting grass song.

    4. “I Still Remember” by Bloc Party – There’s definately a pattern here. There’s a lot of alphabetical shananigans going on to push them to the top.

    5. “Good Love is On the Way” by John Mayer – I have to thank the wife for this jem. Unfortunately it is not even the half-way cool John Mayer Trio version. Not that I don’t enjoy a little John but this is not my favorite. Obviously it’s somebody’s favorite though. Here’s the better version.

    And now for the next 5 or the non-Bloc Party affected 5.

    6. “Love & Memories” by OAR – Again it’s a good song and beat for physical activity.

    7. “Girls” by Beastie Boys

    Here’s where we get into a tie for the last 4.

    8. “Keep it Loose, Keep it Tight” by Amos Lee – I’m a big fan. Give him a listen and you will be too.

    8. “Dirt off Your Shouler” by Jay Z

    8. “Come on Get Higher” by Matt Nathanson – Just listen to his stuff. He’ll move up on your list.

    8. “The Bucket” by Kings of Leon – One of my favorite bands. Pick up there new stuff but there first 2 albums are by far the best.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

