Songs you want played at your funeral.

October 8, 2008

Hopefully this event will take place later rather than sooner, but in my opinion it is never too early to start planning. Who am I kidding? Anyone who knows me personally knows that planning is pretty much my kryptonite. It saps all of my energy and is an effort in futility when I am the one doing the planning. In any event, some of the songs I want played have been in other lists so I won’t include them in the five, but they are definitely worth noting. “Spiritual” by Johnny Cash (things you want to experience before dying) would be at the top of this list because it just sounds like an appropriate song to play in that circumstance, “Bold as Love” by Jimi Hendrix would be appropriate because it’s my favorite song, and Justin Timberlake’s “Sexyback” (songs I have listened to more than four times in a row) and Soulja Boy’s “Crank That” (guiltiest guilty pleasures) make the list because people need to be dancing and having fun as well. Enough of what’s not on the list, here are the songs that made it:

  1. “Nothing Compares 2 U” performed by Sinead O’Connor – My first exposure to this song was in 1989 when my big sister was in love with this song. With her being so fond of it made an impact on me, though truth be told I never actually listened to the lyrics with a full understanding until I began writing this entry. I’d want this song played because I would hope that a super smart supermodel would be crying hysterically while this song was playing because this is what she thought of me. Still to this day I am moved when I see O’Connor
  2. “Ne Me Quitte Pas” by Nina Simone – The song is in French, I have no idea what it means even though my aunt France who is from France (seriously) told me, but it remains one of the most moving pieces of art to ever reverberate in my ear. This was the song I (unintentionally) listened to the most when I was grieving over the death of a loved one, and I want it to be the same for me. Just because in my mind it’s the song that is most closely related with grief.
  3. “The Funeral” by Band of Horses – Before it was in every other commercial, this song was one of my favorites. Look at the title of the song. It says it all right there. This is the perfect song.
  4. “Chicken Noodle Soup” by DJ Webstar – Because it would make people focus on how ridiculous the song is instead of missing me. Plus I want people to dance.
  5. “Venus As A Boy” by Bjork – If you can combine two of your favorite things it’s rarely a bad thing (think peanut butter and jelly in the same jar) and this song is no different. With it being included in one of my favorite movies, Leon The Professional, and being performed by one of my favorite artists, Bjork, it just makes sense.

List 5 Songs you want played at your funeral.

10 Responses to “Songs you want played at your funeral.”

  1. Brian Eldridge Says:

    I was watching High Fidelity last night (as I do most times it comes on TV) and I had to ask myself when Laura’s dad died, what songs would I want played at my funeral. So it’s kind of ironic that you ask this question today.

    It also sucks that I have no idea. I just know I don’t want folks to be sad. I want folks to be happy that I’ve moved on to the next level and there’s no more pain and suffering. It’s weird, because that’s the same thing I told people when I got divorced. LOL

  2. David Says:

    Dude, I’m gonna need more than 5 songs.

    1. “Hard Times Come Again No More” written by Stephen Foster

    Tis a sigh that is wafted across the troubled wave,
    Tis a wail that is heard upon the shore
    Tis a dirge that is murmured around the lowly grave
    Oh hard times come again no more.

    I mean, you just can’t beat that. I’ve always wanted this one at my funeral, though I don’t necessarily agree with the sentiment.

    Not necessarily this version, but sung by a man, please. (Just sounds better to me that way.)

    2. “Lord of Light” by Iron Maiden
    The song is about Lucifer, and I find it to be quite moving. Perhaps more than any other song I can think of right now, it speaks to my inner darkness, also known as my muse.

    3. “Dust in the Wind” by Kansas.
    A good song, and I agree with the lyrics. It’s also rooted in Native American philosophy which maybe speaks to that part of me that’s Native American.

    And I think this is my favorite version:

    4. “Wasted Years” by Iron Maiden
    Because I’m sure I’ve wasted some and don’t want others to. I’d like for people to think after I’m gone, that they should do more than I did, or as much as I did if I end up doing a respectable amount. It’s my favorite “in the now” song.

    5. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” by Frankie Valli.
    Because that’s like the love song between the wife and I. In fact, I was suave enough to have the cd player ready with it loaded when I proposed. If only mp3 players had existed back then, would’ve been a lot easier to pull that off.

    I don’t really like the original version all that much. There are several good remakes, like this one…

    Additionals: Nothing Compares to You, “No Woman No Cry” by Bob Marley, “Second Chance” by .38 Special, “Mama Said Knock You Out” by LL Cool J, “Blaze of Glory” The Alarm, and “Livin on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi.

    I’m sure, given time, I’d remember all the songs I’m forgetting and have a better additional list. Also, I’d probably change number 4.

  3. jessica Says:

    in no particular order:

    1. angel band. i like wally’s version best, but the stanley brothers would suffice.

    2. if i ever leave this world alive – flogging molly. great band. great song. makes me want to drink whiskey and pretend i’m more irish than polish.

    3. i’ll fly away – johnny cash. i can’t help that i like gospel and bluegrass. i was raised southern baptist dammit. another major plus: this song reminds me of my grandfather.

    4. 3 libras – a perfect circle. this has been my “depressed” song since i got the cd in 2000-ish. and i suppose depressed is the emotion i would expect of the people at my funeral. at least until they got to the after party.

    5. i was born a unicorn – the unicorns. my brother put this song on an indie rock mix he made for me and it never fails to make me happy, or at least do my car dance. hopefully, other people will enjoy it as well.

  4. Derrick Says:

    “Home Sweet Home” – Motley Crue
    “Who Wants to Live Forever” – Queen
    “Good Riddance” – Green Day
    “With or Without You” – U2
    “Enter Sandman” – Metallica

  5. bess Says:

    1. Llorando (Crying) – Performed by Rebekah Del Rio. I’ve always like Roy Orbison, but this version is infinitely more powerful. Her voice is amazing. It reminds me of a cello; the resonation, the warm tone, the pure emotion. It’s beautiful. It overwhelmed me.

    2. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life – Stevie Wonder is one of my favorite singers. His songs never fail to cheer me up. The lyrics express how I feel about my friends and family.

    3. You’ve Got A Friend – This song reminds me of my best friend Karen. She’s always been there for me and I love her dearly.

    4. When It Don’t Come Easy – Patty Griffin. Her lyrics are beautiful, but she’s also a beautiful and influential person. She quiet and humble and speaks from the heart. Such a strong voice from such a tiny person. She gives a great show.

    oh yeah. if you watch the video, you might want to skip ahead to about 1:30. there’s a short interview before the song starts.

    5. I’ve always been a huge Jim Henson fan. His sense of humor, his talent, but mostly his dedication to bringing people together through laughter and demonstrations of harmony and good will. There are so many songs by Jim Henson and/or featured in muppet movies that I love it’s hard to choose one. Here is wonderful medley of his favorites. I like the stair song and the song about “it’s in every one of us to be wise.”

    P.S. “ne me quitte pas” means “don’t leave me”

  6. Lindsey Says:

    1. I have to agree with Bess about Jim Henson’s movie tunes- Rainbow Connection by Paul Williams is pretty fantastic. So while contemplating my other 4 songs, I’m going to go ahead and chalk this one up because it really would be a great funeral song.

    2. Funeral for a Friend by Elton John
    It wasn’t until somebody told me this was a sad song that I actually listened to the words. So don’t be fooled by the catchy Elton John piano playin’!! It is, in fact, a little depressing.

    3. Do You Realize? by Flaming Lips
    Again, a beautiful song that is terribly sad if you listen to the lyrics.

    4. I Will Follow You Into the Dark by Death Cab for Cutie
    I have only heard this song one time when I saw DC4C in concert. My friend Lucy and I, at ages 24 and 26, respectively, were quite possibly the oldest people in an audience clearly made up of preteens. They were all singing along with this song, and I was bawling my eyes out.

    5. I Can See Clearly Now by Johnny Nash
    If you read the lyrics (which I’m quite handily posting for you: http://www.stlyrics.com/lyrics/hardertheycome/icanseeclearlynow.htm), you’ll have to agree with me that it’s the perfect “everybody leaving the funeral and heading off to the party and heavy drinking” song. Little mood-booster, if you will.

  7. billy Says:

    1. Yeah Alabama – Best and worst times of my life to this song so it would be fitting to make everyone listen to it one more time.

    2. Requiem for a Dream – Cool song. You can also leave the Coach Bryant mumbling in there too. It will make me smile.

    3. Theme from Good Times – It was probably one of favorite songs as a kid. Plus, it would be a happy way to end the day.

    4. Rob Base – It Takes Two
    Againg mainly just for the reaction. This doesn’t need to be a sad occassion. I just want this song played as everyone leaves the Church. I also want everyone in a Soul Train Line as they play this song.

  8. billy Says:

    Had to add one more. Just had to research and find the song. Originally heard it on Scrubs.

    Joseph Arthur – In the Sun

    Just a cool song. It will be a good reality check between playing Good Times and It Takes two.

  9. Jamie Says:

    I first heard that song in the movie Saved! Great movie and great song.

  10. Emeigh Says:

    Songs I want at my funeral are. Aimee by Ozzy Osbourne, My Little Man by Ozzy Osbourne, Crazy Train by Ozzy Osbourne, Four Rusted Horses by Marilyn Manson, Running To The Edge Of The World by Marilyn Manson, Rock,n,Roll All Nite by Kiss, Hell’s Bells by AC/DC, Mama I’m Coming Home by Ozzy Osbourne, Strange Fruit by Billie Holiday, My Man by Ella Fitzgerald, Wuthering Hights by Kate Bush, Let The Bodies Hit The Fllor by Black Label Society, Fame by David Bowie, Come Together by The Beatles, School’s Out by Alice Cooper, Hey You by Pink Flyod, The Wall by Pink Floyd, Run Like Hell by Pink Floyd, Engel by Rammstein, Bestrefe Mich by Rammstein, Du Hast by Rammstein, Fox On The Run by Ace Frehley, Hotter Than Hell by Kiss, Hell Ani’t A Bad Place To Be by AC/DC, We’re From America by Marilyn Manson, 15 by Marilyn Manson, Let Me Hear You Scream by Ozzy Osbourne, Iron Man by Black Sabbath,


Leave a Reply

